#SupportIndieAuthors, do you know your Lineage edition!

Today I’m featuring one of the wonderful authors from BigWorldNetwork. I’ve read the first book of his series, Lineage, and found it quite enjoyable. You guys should check it out!

The Bio:

J. Christopher Thompson grew up in, and has a special love for, the Southwestern United States. He is a stay at home father of twin boys. When he’s not pursuing his Ed. degree, or his very energetic twin boyos, he writes. Lineage is his first published work.

The Book Blurb:

Lineage is the story of Connor Murray, a hooligan from Waterford, Hertfordshire, England who discovers he is a descendant of the legendary King Arthur. He is taken to an academy on an island called Avalon with other descendants of the Court of Camelot to be taught by the progeny of Merlin. Lineage brings the names of the Knights of the Round Table from the dust of the old tales and gives them new life. It also brings back the ideals of Arthur’s Camelot: might is not right, mercy is not weakness and cruelty is not strength.

Social Media Blitz!

Website: http://bigworldnetwork.com/site/series/lineage/
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/pages/J-Christopher-Thompson/408835255850634?ref=hl
Twitter: @avalonacademyuk
Linkedin:https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=57822683&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile_pic
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/roandfinndaddy/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/jchristopherthompson
Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8442715.J_Christopher_Thompson

The Questions:

1. What do you do to keep your spirits up through a bad review?

I cope by trying to keep the attitude of a student when I read any review, trying to learn what I can from what the readers are telling me. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

2. What has been your greatest inspiration for writing your story?

I’m a bit of a Cinephile and I’m not ashamed to say that two movies provided the inspiration for Lineage.

The first movie was “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”. A particular line in that film really intrigued me. The character Mikael Blomkvist exclaims in frustration that “The court of public opinion now celebrates people’s bad behavior.” I heard that and thought. What could change that? What if there were a place where the opposite of that mindset could be taught?

Intriguing as it was, I put that thought to the back of my mind. It was interesting, but it wasn’t going anywhere on it’s own.

A short time later I watched John Boorman’s Excalibur. I’ve always loved Arthurian legends, and watching this film a few thoughts popped into my head. 1) what if Arthur and Guinevere had a child no one knew about? 2) what if Lancelot and Guinevere had a child no one knew about? 3) What if more Knights of the Round Table survived the final battle? Would they try to carry on Arthur’s legacy? If so, how would they do it?

Slowly these questions, along with the thoughts I had while watching The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, coalesced. From there I was able to develop the story of the Academy on Avalon, how Arthur’s line survived into the modern day and the corruption it suffered, the spreading of the bloodlines of the Knights of the Round Table, the emergence of the Bane of Pendragon and so on.

3. Are there any people you feel need a shout out for supporting you?

I’ve got a long list, but I’ll condense it.

My wife Liz. You put up with the late hours I spend writing, when I mutter under my breath as I try work out bits of dialogue, the weird, off-the-wall questions and my general oddness. I love you sweetheart.

Jared Quan, for talking my book up as much as your own fantastic work and being one of my best friends.

Brian Crugar, through thick and thin, brother, you’ve always been there for me.
My crew of Bad Pennies from Victoria, Texas: Jerri, Javi, John, Jason, Tom Crystal, Aimee. You guys are missed so much by Liz and I.

Ross and Amie, I never could have asked for more supportive people.

Edgar White, for being an inspiration to me.

4. Has self-publishing taught you any lessons that you feel will help you in life?

That fear and timidity aren’t attitudes people in our line of work can afford. If we want to get our books out into the hands of the public we have to be bold. Nelson Mandela said “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” We must decide that what we’ve worked on, cried over, bled for is more important than our momentary fear.

and last, What’s your favorite color?

Blue. No – AAAAAAAAUUUUUUGGGHHH!!!!

