I hope I can inspire you! #AmWriting #AmEditing #SupportIndieAuthors! #ASMSG #IARTG

So I took a bit of a break from writing recently. Only read one short book, finished a review for another, but I haven’t posted it yet. I just decided I needed a break.

I went from almost no writing ever to about 1000 words a day in two short years. This is spread over blog posts, books, and just general internet chit chat. Going from 0 to 1000 words a day may not seem like much, but it was an accomplishment for me. I wrote a trilogy of books, 5 novellas, 3 rough drafts, and was starting to feel overwhelmed.

Then I remembered the lessons I learned from my clients when I worked in a psych ward. Balance. Without balance we spin out of control. We grow out of touch with who we are. That’s when it’s time to reconnect. You need to do whatever it is that helps you relax. Me? I play a lot of video games. I just recently spent far too long playing Fallout 4. At the same time, I needed to reconnect with special aspects of my childhood, playing a game.

It reminded me of being 12 years old, playing through the first Fallout, and helped me reconnect with my inner child.

Now I can approach my work with a new perception, adding a new flavor to my writing. All from a good time relaxing. But break time is over.

I’m back and determined to match, if not exceed what I did in the last year. I have more than one project on my plate, I just need to dig in.

I know the only way to get better is to keep moving forward. The day you stagnate in your growth, the day you don’t look for a new lesson in the day, that to me is the day the child within you dies. And what a sad day that is.

I refuse to let my inner child die. I watch cartoons, I read comics, I love movies and television. Everyday I make time to read, to act, to see, to do something for someone else, knowing that in the long run it helps me. The more you see, the more you do, your expanded experiences lead you to being the fantastic, strong, powerful, creative person you are. Why not share that with the world? Why hide your most beautiful of gifts, yourself?

Don’t be afraid to write that story, they all start the same way. With one word at a time. I set a challenge to myself today. At least 250 words for you people. 250 words of encouragement, of inspiration and the struggle for you. Because you are worth it.

4 thoughts on “I hope I can inspire you! #AmWriting #AmEditing #SupportIndieAuthors! #ASMSG #IARTG

  1. Well said. A break is a wonderful thing, but allowing it to go too long is very counterproductive. I wish you luck in getting back into a groove that works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

