Day three of my 250 words of inspiration! #SupportIndieAuthors

I was thinking about what inspires me today. It’s sort of been floating in the background all day, a buzz that wouldn’t leave me alone. What encounters do I have in my life that help me connect to my imaginary friends.

There are so many distractions in this modern world that conspire to keep you from working. Movies, books, everyday experiences, they all vie for attention. But I’m here to tell you all of them can be a boon for your writing, if you take the right perspective. For instance, at this very moment I am watching a movie with my wife. To me, it’s okay, but nothing fantastic. The main character seems bland, the story is alright but nothing awe inspiring, the music however is wonderful on the ears. I’ve watched it before and it’s good but not great. I feel just enough into it for it to serve as background noise while I write.

Meanwhile, Sara is enthralled, enthusiastically planning art projects even as she absorbs the story. She’s never seen it before, and the scenery has her enamored. The characters have her drawn in, and I see a rare twinkle of wonder in her eyes.

I find her enthusiasm infectious, and even now I feel my imaginary friends stirring. Though I was bored, now I feel a drive. Where I had walls, they start to crumble. You never know where inspiration will come from, but I can tell you where it starts.

An open mind and a willingness to absorb new ideas lead to a crashing crescendo of creativity that just can’t be stifled. Work to push your comfort zone, and you’ll be amazed at what you can accomplish.

Revel in other people’s worlds, because they will help you expand yours.

Leave a Reply

