Day 14 of 90 Never know when you’ll be inspired

I was looking for a good writing book to read, because I of course want to improve my skills as a writer, and I came accross a title that made me think. Now, I know nothing about this book, but I did consider purchasing it. The title was 8 minute writing. I assume from the title it talks about writing in 8 minute bursts, and getting the story out. I am a huge fan of this approach, especially when you have a complicated and busy life.

However, I don’t think that approach would work for me. I tend to vomit upon the page, figuring I can edit the rest out, and it’s generally worked so far. But my stretches are much more than 8 minutes. I typically spend a good hour typing, at least when I’m in the zone.

Communicating your story should ultimately be a fun endeavor. If you don’t think you’re going to enjoy writing, then you’re not. At least, that’s the way it was for me. It wasn’t until I tried to look at it as fun that it became fun.

If you’re willing to approach it with an open mind and look forward to the work, you are more than likely going to enjoy yourself. Perspective completely shapes the world around us, and we all have our own version of it. Be willing to listen to the world around you. Open your mind, change your outlook and approach, and you’ll see just how amazing life can be.

Feel free to leave me comments with your favorite writing books (Preferably not your own).

Leave a Reply

