Day 21 of 90: Keeping on! #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

I received another review below 3 stars, but I’m not sweating it. I don’t know if reviews sell books, and frankly I don’t care. I do love hearing people’s honest opinions on my works.

The feedback I receive from people who have read my books have helped me grow by leaps and bounds as an author. Every chance I get I read my reviews, both positive and negative, and marvel at the differing opinions of readers. One person calls a character shallow, while another says he\She is the greatest personality in written form.

What one person finds shallow and meaningless, another finds depths even I didn’t forsee.

You can look at reviews in one of two ways. You can look at them as a validation for your writing, fishing for compliments off the sea that is the internet. Or, you can look at them as lessons. Find what works for you and what doesn’t, and hone your voice to perfection.

I was revising a work last week, and it was driven home.  A scene didn’t come across as I wanted, and I learned I was deficient in explaining my point of view. I carried those lessons on to my next WIP, and I think I’ve learned from that mistake. Only time will tell, I just have to want to continue to be a better writer than I was yesterday.

2 thoughts on “Day 21 of 90: Keeping on! #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

Leave a comment