Day 38 of 90: Individuality #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors

I had an email in my inbox this morning that I was afraid to click. It was a reply from a reviewer, and all I could see of the body was, “I can’t believe you…”

I almost didn’t open it, I wanted to hide from whatever the person wrote. But, my curiosity got the better of me, and I opened it up to find, “…could enjoy writing this as much as I enjoyed reading it.”

Sometimes our fears are unfounded. We worry about things we have no control over, rather than enjoying life. Sometimes we care what people think, and lose sight of the goals we have set before us.

Fear is a silly, fickle beast. One that warns us of dangers, or prepares us for the worst. But fear also freezes people.

We as authors fight fear everyday. We wonder about how people will interpret our words, and wonder if we have the wherewithal to deal with their opinions if they don’t like what we wrote. I know a few authors who let fear get the better of them, and stop them from publishing new works. Either their first book isn’t as well received as they expected, or a scathing review has left them with a gaping wound, they let fear stop them. And when you let fear get the best of you, and stop you from doing whatever it is you want to do, you’ve let it win.

Don’t let fear win, beat it back unmercifully with a stick. Then, once you’ve conquered your fear, continue being you. There’s no one else exactly like you in the world, so embrace your individuality.

Leave a Reply

