Monday Musings: Always Going Forward, Always Looking Back a.k.a. Progress, But Don’t Forget

Awesome post about progressing, yet never forgetting who you are.

J. B. Garner - Musings of a Starving Author

I am sitting here, planning for the changes to the blog and my own work habits in the weeks ahead, and I have come to the realization that there is an important balance to walk here.  How much should I change from my old course?  How far should I go and how much should I keep?

The answer is, of course, obvious.  As in most things, balance is called for.  You can’t forget your past, but you can’t stand still either.  I need to keep the things that are vital to me, while pushing past my limitations to move ahead in the places I’m deficient.  I need to hold on to my humility while being confident enough to push myself forward.  I need to be supportive of my colleagues while never forgetting to worry about my own well-being.  It’s the classic ‘you can’t help others until you help yourself first’.

View original post 17 more words

Leave a Reply

