Day 43 of 90: G.O.D. #Iartg #Asmsg #SupportIndieAuthors #Ian1 #Inspiration

I’m up to 43 days. I can’t believe I’ve managed to keep up this steady pace, but I’m happy I have. Hopefully I’ve helped you to start a habit of writing just a bit everyday.

I started going over my first book again, attempting to edit and clean it up more, as an independent author’s job is never done. It’s interesting to see how much I’ve grown as a writer, and in all honesty, I’m happy I tackled that job first.

I don’t know if I would be able to write the story I did, the way I did, again. I really wrote that by the seat of the pants, and ended up writing a book that’s about the length of the first Lord of the Rings book. Every step of that journey was taken one day at a time, wondering where I should go, what I should do, really treating it like an open world tabletop role playing game. I don’t know if you’ve ever tried to run an epic campaign, but there is a lot of planning that goes into your game before you even start.

Where you’re going, what obstacles you’ll have to overcome, every little detail down to what the leader of the city you’re in. All of these could prove important all on the roll of a dice. And I treated that book exactly like that. A complete gardener on that book, it was a ton of fun to write.

With each book I write, it’s becoming just a bit more organized. My outlines would by no means be accepted as an outline from anyone else. Mostly it’s an incoherent rambling of sticky notes. Just like in my D&D days.

As a G.O.D. (Games Operational Director) your job is to keep your free willed characters on track, without dropping the hand of G.O.D. upon them. Sometimes you’re more successful than others. A roll of the dice can change it all, but remember how rare it really is.

Leave a Reply

