Day 47 of 90: I love critical reviews #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

I received a 2 star review last night. I’m not telling you to complain, but to explain why it’s my new favorite review.

It really looks like the person reading it enjoyed the story, and the journey. They went into detail about what they did and didn’t like about the work, but it wasn’t a bashing. As I said, he offered great praise with his criticism.

I know some people would probably be unhappy with that 2 star review. They would look at it, and cry for whatever reason. They won’t see the praise, and will be focused on the 2 stars.

I look at what he wrote, and see places where my writing may need to improve or adapt, something we as writers should be striving to do, and absorb the praise of what he feels I did well.

There’s even some good marketing points in his review, ones I will gladly use to help on my journey.

Thank you Mr./Mrs. Critical Reviewer. Thank you for helping me improve my writing skills one book at a time.

I know I’m improving with each and every day, making strides and inroads into learning a new tricks. Using characters in different ways.

I encourage you to seek out the positives in all of your reviews. And if there is no positive, then I hope you have the strength to move on(Hey, at least they read the book.). Keep being you, and keep persevering.

2 thoughts on “Day 47 of 90: I love critical reviews #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

  1. Agreed. As long as a ‘negative’ review goes about it in a rational, logical manner, I love them. It’s those critical points that let us improve at our craft. Without them, we’d just be in an echo chamber of people going ‘You’re great!’ and never improve,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

