Day 50 of 90: No Time For Losers #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

I was listening to a song today, We Are The Champions, without the music in it. Really shows off Freddy Mercury’s voice. But there was a line from the song that resonated with me this morning for some reason.

No time for losers.

Not everyone is a loser, but the people who want to hold you down for no one’s sake but their own, they’re losers.

I see it a lot, especially within the indie author community, and I don’t understand it. Just last night I watched a bit of a slingfest between authors, and I just don’t get it. I don’t understand how people on the one hand can say, “All indie books are rubish, they need professional editing and none of them make any sense.” can turn around and in the next topic say, “Well, my book is the greatest gift to men on Earth. Within its pages are the keys to understanding the meaning of life, the square root of pi, and a romantic romp through the woods with a shapeshifting hunk of a man.” (I’m using general things I’ve seen, not pointing at any one author.)

If you are an independent author, or even a small press author, and you’re disparaging other people’s work without actually reading it, you are part of the problem.

Some people just won’t like your book. Expect it, it’s going to happen. But some people are just assholes, only looking to hold self published authors down, for whatever reason. I’m here to tell you to look at them, lift your middle finger proudly, and tell them under no circumstances do you accept their opinion. If they’re going to hate on you just to hate, it’s better to ignore.

It’s high school all over again.

Leave a Reply

