Day 58 of 90: Not Giving In #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors #Inspiration

You know, when I reach the point of giving up, that’s when I know I am going to make it. I find myself questioning my will, my way. I’m not experiencing that now, just stating what I know is true.

I have an author friend that’s struggling right now. They’re sad, and questioning why they started writing in the first place. Worried because no one is buying their book yet.

I give as much advice as I can, but there comes a time where the best advice to give is patience and perseverance. Or, as my father used to say, “Hurry up and wait.”

I used to hate that phrase, until I came to truly understand it. There’s only one living being you control, and that’s you. Hurry up and do what you need to do. Once you are done, don’t rush what cannot be rushed.

It’s a hard lesson to learn, one I continue to struggle against everyday. Patience is a virtue, perseverance is a trait, putting them together is hurry up and wait.

So often in life we abandon projects when things get hard. Rather than putting our head down and pushing through the obstacle, we surrender. We let ourselves be defeated. Sometimes the obstacle is time, there’s only one way to travel through time that I know.

Don’t lose because you’re tired. Take a break, a deep breath. Reconnect with why you do whatever it is. Don’t give up just because it’s harder than you thought.

Leave a Reply

