Day 85 of 90: A Show of Appreciation #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors

I love being a part of the author and writing community. I see horror stories all the time, and I’m not saying bad situations don’t happen, but so far I have been very fortunate in finding people I mesh with.

From an awesome and supportive group of fellow bloggers, to other independent authors and readers I meet on Goodreads. I’m sure Stephen King and other big name authors are great people too, I just haven’t had the pleasure of meeting them yet.

Every single one of these people are influential to my writing everyday. The bloggers were helpful and supportive before I even knew what I wanted to do. From the poet bloggers with their haikus and other beautiful words, to the photographers sharing our beautiful world. They encouraged me to have fun with the whole process, and in so doing helped inspire me to write a whole bevy of books.

Then there’s the other authors, and there’s a lot of them! They were supportive from the start. The indie authors helped to point me in the right direction, and offered good company with which to share the horrors and the successes of publishing. There are some who still look at others as competition and a springboard, but I think we’re creating a movement to change that.

And of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the readers, who are the reason why we write. I hope those of you that have read my works have enjoyed them, and look forward to sharing oh so much more with you.

Being a writer is an interesting occupation, it has changed the way I look at the world. Using my imagination in an attempt to reach the world, and sharing parts of myself I thought would always be locked deep inside. I could never stop the words from flowing now. They come and go as they want, but the story is still written one word at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

