Day 92 of 90: Writing is good for you #ASMSG #IARTG #IAN1 #SupportIndieAuthors!

I keep telling you guys that writing is good for you, but I don’t think I’ve given you all any solid examples. I thought I would take today to talk with you all about the skills writing has helped me learn to cultivate.

The first thing writing taught me was focus. I suffer from Attention Deficit Disorder, which makes it hard to concentrate on one problem at a time. I want to focus, try to focus, but my mind jumps and starts on it’s own timing. The simplest of things pull me away from whatever projects I’m working on, and I have to work hard to get back on track. Writing helped by making it so that I had to focus. The ordered thought process of figuring out a character, or a scene, really helped me to keep myself on track.

Next is vocabulary. While I have always considered myself a bit of a talker, I never realized how few words I really used until I started to write. That’s not to say I didn’t have a vocabulary, or that I didn’t know how to use it, just that I didn’t. Not until I became a writer anyways, then I had a reason to call myself a verbose philanthroper of locution.

Last, it taught me to have patience, which has never been one of my strong suits. But the patience an author needs, with himself, and the world around him, is just as important as the patience I needed when I worked as a certified nurses assistant.

Writing can, and will, help you grow. It’s all in if you choose to pursue that avenue, or take another path to become a better person than you were yesterday.

Leave a Reply

